C4DISC is a community comprised of consortial groups such as societies and associations whose membership is composed of individuals, companies, or organizations, and whose mission and membership are related to scholarly communications. The Coalition was formed to discuss and address issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) within our industry.

The Association of University Presses (AUPresses) will provide legal standing and other appropriate services and management as needed. C4DISC is facilitated by Convener Alice Meadows for 2023-2024, in concert with the appointed member representatives, who provide its direction and oversight as the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee is responsible for:

  • Policy decisions
  • Financial decisions
  • Creating working groups and appointing leads/chairs

The C4DISC Organizational Guide summarizes the key decisions made by the Founding Organization representatives to date regarding their work together. C4DISC commits to maintaining transparency via posting minutes from meetings publicly using its website.

Steering Committee Members


Alice Meadows, Convener


Melanie Schlosser

Association of University Presses (AUPresses)

Peter Berkery

International Society of Managing and Technical Editors (ISMTE)

Brit Stamey, Treasurer


Gillian Harrison Cain

Canadian Association of Learned Journals (CALJ)

Abrahim H. Khan

Council of Science Editors (CSE)

Patricia Baskin


Ed Pentz

Library Publishing Coalition (LPC)

Ally Laird

North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG)

Jordan Graham

National Information Standards Organization (NISO)

Rebecca McLeod

Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)

Bernie Folan

Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)

Alex Mendonça

Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP)

Charlotte Roh

UK Serials Group (UKSG)

Bev Acreman


Melanie Dolechek

Founding Organizations


aup       Spring-2014-CSE-logo-2ismtecaljlpcnasigoaspassp